Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission

The Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO was established in 1960, with the aim to promote international and regional cooperation and coordinate marine research, services, observation systems, hazard mitigation, and capacity development in order to understand and effectively manage the resources of the ocean and coastal areas.


Cyprus Oceanography Committee

Cyprus is a member-state of the IOC since 1977 and is involved in Programmes such as the IODE (International Oceanographic Data and Information Exchange), and the NEAMTWS (North East Atlantic Mediterranean Tsunami Warning System).


More Information:


Contact Information:

Dr George Zodiatis
Cyprus Oceanography Centre
University of Cyprus
Tel: +357 22893988